Meet the board of Arthritis Ireland

print version share on facebook

Arthritis Ireland is governed by a board of directors who give their time freely and generously to further the cause. None of our directors are paid for their work but are volunteers in their own right. Our board meets on a regular basis and has a number of sub-committees that progress the work outside of the board, fully engaging in a supportive role with the staff of Arthritis Ireland.

Our board is made up of three constituent parts, each constituent contributing skills and expertise in their own way. The three constituent parts, clearly defined in our articles of association, are:

4 Elected Directors:

This type of director is nominated by the volunteer branch network and elected by our members at our AGM. Elected directors are generally people living with arthritis and bring a personal experience of the disease area to the board, but in all cases bring other skills to further the cause.

4 Society Directors:

This group is made up of three representatives from The Irish Society for Rheumatology and one from The Irish Rheumatology Health Professionals Society, providing a very important link to our medical stakeholders and patients alike.

7 Ordinary Directors:

Directors making up this grouping are co-opted from time to time based on the needs of the organisation, whether they be fundraising, marketing, governance, specialist interest areas or other needs.


Board of Directors

Seoirse Smith (Chairman)

Eric Boyle

Martina Cooney (IRHPS)**

Stephen Crowe

Prof. Ursula Fearon

Andrew Kinsella

Dr Emma MacDermott (ISR)*

Andrea MacMahon

Keith Nix

Dr Barry O'Shea (ISR)*

Dr Miriam O'Sullivan (ISR)* 


Tim O'Sullivan


*ISR - Irish Society of Rheumatology

** IRHPS - Irish Rheumatology of Health Professionals Society



discussion forum blog get the ezine shop
Arthritis Ireland on facebook Arthritis Ireland on Twitter Arthritis Ireland on Google Plus Arthritis Ireland on YouTube Arthritis Ireland on YouTube Arthritis Ireland on YouTube